Individual grants are mainly from the Swedish Research Council (VR), The Swedish Energy Agency (Energimyndigheten), and Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation (KAW).

Collaborative research grants are from VR, KAW, Mistra, the Swedish Foundation for Strategic Research (SSF), VINNOVA and EU. About 15 of MMK researchers have received individual project grants VR. Some of the large national consortia include Mistra SafeChem, Mistra TerraClean, Wallenberg Wood Science Centre.

At the international level researchers at MMK are involved in several H2020 projects. Below are selected highlights of research projects.


1. Anja-Verena Mudring (main PI):
Understanding the fundamentals of light emitting electrochemical cells, 2020-2025, VR Research Environment grant


Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation (KAW)

2. Anja-Verena Mudring (main PI), Xiaodong Zou, Mattias Edén, Alexander:
Access to potent medical drugs (APIs) through crystallization enabled by ionic liquids (ILs), 2020-2024

3. Lennart Bergström, Aji Mathew:
Wallenberg Wood Science Centre (lead by KTH), 2019-2028 (

4. Ulrich Häussermann:
Recreating meteorite impacts to find magnetic materials, 2019-2023

5. Xiaodong Zou and A. Ken Inge:
Catalytic Composites for Sustainable Synthesis (CATSS), 2017-2022, (Coordinated by Organic Chemistry, SU, main PI: Prof. Belén Martín-Matute).


Swedish Foundation for Strategic Research (SSF)

6. Cheuk-wai Tai, Tom Willhammar, Thomas Thersleff, Hongyi Xu:
“A Multidimensional Toolkit for Modern Electron Microscopy”, 2019-2021

7. Mats Johnsson:
Electrocatalysis for valorisation of glycerol. 2018-2022

8. Anja-Verena Mudring:
REFIT - Minskad friktion genom jonteknologi, 2018-2022 (

9. Lennart Bergström (SU-PI), Ulrich Häussermann, Anja-Verena Mudring: SwedNess ( 2016-2021



10. Adam Slabon and Mika Sipponen:
C1Bio - Kolfixering genom grön kemi för en C1-baserad bioekonomi 2019-2023 Mistra:

11. Lennart Bergström, Adam Slabon, Aji Mathew, Conny Östman:
Mistra SafeChem (Coordinated by IVL), 2020-2024  

12. Niklas Hedin, Aji Mathew, Mistra TerraClean:
Mistra, Smart Materials, TERRACLEAN, 2017-2021,



13. Niklas Hedin:
GreenCarbon - ITN under the Marie Skłodowska-Curie grant, 2017-2020,

14. Aji Mathew:
H2020, NanoTextsurf, 2017-2020. (Co-ordinator VTT Finland)


Selected large individual research grants

1. Jiayin Yuan:
"Heteroatom-doped Gradient Porous Carbon Membrane (MMCarbon)”, Wallenberg Academy Fellows (WAF2017.0166).;

2. Jiayin Yuan:
"Nanoporous gradient poly(ionic liquid) membranes" (Grant No. NAPOLI639720), 2015-2021. https//

3. Xiadong Zou, Wallenberg Scholars:
Electron crystallographic methods to probe 3D atomic structures and charge states in macromolecules, 2020-2024

4. Xiaodong Zou, Rådsprofessor:
Revealing atomic structures, charge states and molecular interactions in macromolecules by microcrystal electron diffraction, 2020-2030