General information

Three­-dimensional electron diffraction (3DED) is a powerful method for structure determination of nano-­ and submicron-sized crystals. It overcomes the fundamental drawback of single crystal X-­ray diffraction, where large crystals are indispensable. More and more studies in the fields of porous materials, such as metal­-organic frameworks (MOFs), covalent organic frameworks (COFs), and zeolites, have been using 3DED to determine the structures.

The course is intended for PhD students, postdocs and young researchers, who wish to learn how to collect, process and use 3DED data for structure elucidation. Emphasis will be placed on the theory of electron diffraction and the use of computer programs for processing 3DED data and determining crystal structures. Live demonstration will be given for 3DED data collection on TEM. There will also be computer labs to give the participants some hands-on exposure to free data analysis and processing software, including REDp, XDS and Shelx. The demonstrations and practice will use zeolites and MOFs as examples.

Although theoretical background of electron diffraction will be reviewed at the beginning of the course, some prior knowledge of crystal structures and basic crystallography is highly encouraged for participants to benefit from the school. If possible, participants should setup their own computers and software for the practical sessions. Researchers from all related fields are welcome to join. The course is given online, and it is free of charge.


  • Introduction to 3DED
  • Theoretical background of electron diffraction
  • 3DED data collection
  • 3DED data processing
  • Structure solution using 3DED data
  • Structure refinement using 3DED data
  • Accuracy of 3DED data
  • Improving 3DEDdata quality


  • Prof. Xiaodong Zou, Stockholm University, Sweden.
  • Dr. Tom Willhammar, Stockholm University, Sweden.
  • Dr. Hongyi Xu, Stockholm University, Sweden.
  • Dr. Zhehao Huang, Stockholm University, Sweden.


2nd April, 2021: Registration

Organization Committee

Dr. Zhehao Huang; Dr. Hongyi Xu; Dr. Tom Willhammar; Prof. Xiaodong Zou; 

Dr. Thomas Bennett; Dr. Jamie Gould; Prof. Ross Forgan; Dr. Andrea Layourn

*If you have any question, please contact