Department of Materials and Environmental Chemistry

  1. You are here:
  2. Start
  3. Department of Materials and Environmental Chemistry

The research at MMK addresses important challenges in energy, environment and health. We work for a better world and sustainable society.

We focus on developing new materials for a sustainable society, employing green synthesis and sustainable processing routes. We develop advanced methodologies for chemical analysis and structural characterisation, including analytical chemistry tools, electron crystallography, different spectroscopic methods and multiscale  modelling.

The research activities are divided into 10 profile areas, conducted by 26 research groups.


Beyond Benign

MMK Sign the Green Chemistry Commitment

To make green chemistry an integral part of chemistry education.

Anja-Verena Mudring

Prof. Anja-Verena Mudring joins the Editorial Board of ACS Sustainable Chemistry & Engineering

Congratulation Prof. Anja-Verena Mudring for being selected to serve on the Editorial Advisory Board of ACS Sustainable Chemistry and Engineering.

Dag Noréus

Återvinning av batterier förenklas med ny metod

En ny metod för att återvinna gamla batterier kan ge bättre och billigare laddningsbara hydridbatterier (NiMH). Det visar en ny studie av forskare vid Stockholms universitet.


Corona: MMK donates protective visors for Swedish hospitals

3D printing process of protective visors The 3D printing process of protective visors was conducted in Prof. Aji Mathew’s and Prof. Jiayin Yuan’s group.

Hand sanitizer team

Corona: MMK Produce Hand Sanitizer for Hospitals

We have now delivered more than 20 000 liters of hand sanitizer to the hospitals and elderly homes.


Information for students and staff about the coronavirus

Information on the coronavirus in relation to Stockholm University's activities is updated continuously.

Recent Publications

Artikel Additive manufacturing of dense zirconia ceramics by fused deposition modeling via screw extrusion
2021. Qinglong He (et al.). Journal of the European Ceramic Society 41 (1), 1033-1040

Artikel Humidity-Dependent Thermal Boundary Conductance Controls Heat Transport of Super-Insulating Nanofibrillar Foams
2021. Varvara Apostolopoulou-Kalkavoura (et al.). Matter 4 (1), 276-289

Artikel Magnetic anisotropy of individual maghemite mesocrystals
2021. B. Gross (et al.). Physical Review B 103 (1)

Artikel Polycyclic aromatic compounds in particulate matter and indoor dust at preschools in Stockholm, Sweden
2021. Hwanmi Lim (et al.). Science of the Total Environment 755


Sustainable Chemistry

NEW: MSc Programme in Sustainable Chemistry

Sustainable chemistry, also which embraces the concept of green chemistry, is an area that focuses on safe design of synthesis pathways, processing routes, and the derivation and analysis of products that minimizes the use and generation of hazardous substances.

Research Groups
Research Areas
Chemistry Section