1. Du är här:
  2. www.mmk.su.se
  3. Staff
  4. All members
  5. Bergström, Lennart

Bergström, Lennart

Head of Unit


Short biosketch

Prior to moving to Stockholm University in 2004, I held several positions at the Institute of Surface Chemistry, YKI in Stockholm and also served as the director of The Brinell Centre–Inorganic Interfacial Engineering, at KTH. I currently serve as principal editor of Journal of Materials Research, editor-in-chief of Ceramics International, associated editor of Science and Technology of Advanced Materials, and advisory board member of Nanoscale.

Self-assembly of nanoparticles  and novel process routes for nanocrystals, porous materials and other inorganic colloids to form novel nanostructured materials with useful properties are at the core of our activities where the fundamental activities aim to generate a better understanding of the molecular or mesoscopic assembly mechanisms. Biomimetic synthesis which involves the integration, directed assembly and controlled crystallization of inorganic materials with polymers and biomolecules is another closely related field of interest. This quest has lead us to explore traditional methods to treat fibres from renewable resources.

The research has resulted in several inventions and both generated patents that have been sold to industry and also lead to the formation of two spin-out companies; NeoZeo AB in 2010 and Cellutech AB in 2013.


Fellowships, awards and prizes

1992; The Sandvik Coromant Material Prize.

1994; The Akzo Nobel Surface Chemistry Nordic Science Prize

2007; Jacob Wallenberg Materials Award

2008; Stockholm Innovation Prize

2009; Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry

2011; Humboldt research award

2013: Fellow of the European Ceramic Society

2013: Fellow of the American Ceramic Society

2013: Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA)

2014: World Academy of Ceramics (WAC)

2014: Chinese Academy of Sciences visiting professor (Hefei University)



PhD students:

H. Guldberg-Pedersen, 1998; Project manager catalyst development, Haldor Topsoe A/S, Denmark.
Peter H.F. Hansen, 2000; Group leader, Measurement systems and IT, Innventia.
Eric Laarz, 2000; Project leader, Seco Tools AB.
Anders Meurk, 2000; Project manager, Scania.
Karin M. Andersson, 2004; Project leader, Sandvik AB.
Pär Wedin, 2004; Project leader, Nynäs AB.
Petr  Vasiliev, 2009; CEO, NeoZeo AB/SIA.
Jovice B-S. Ng, 2009; Researcher, GE Healthcare

Linnéa Andersson, 2011: Post doc Oregon State University/ANU Canberra

Bertrand Faure, 2012: Post doc, CEA Grenoble, France

Christian Mille, 2012: Project leader, ABB Corporate Research

Erik Wetterskog, 2013: Post doc, Uppsala University


Post-doctoral fellows and visiting scientists:

Anwar Ahniyaz, Project leader, Institute for Surface Chemistry, Sweden.
Nelson Bell, Project leader, Sandia National Labs, Albuquerque, USA.
Richard Greenwood, Tutor, Birmingham University; Birmingham, UK.
Robert Hodgkins, Project leader, Johnson Matthew Ltd., UK.
Yuji Hotta, Group leader, Inorganic/organic hybrids, Ceramic Research Institute, AIST, Japan.
Motoyuki Iijima, Assist. Prof., Tokyo Institute of Agriculture and Technology, Japan
Takamasa Mori, Assist. Prof., Nagoya University, Japan
Ranjith Krishna Pai, Researcher, Brookhaven National Lab., USA.
Peter Lipowski, Project leader, Siemens, Munchen, Germany
Vitaliy Olinyk, Technical specialist, JPK Instruments, Berlin, Germany
Brian Sundlof, Advisory engineer, Interconnect products, IBM, USA.
Jing Sun, Deputy Director, Shanghai Institute of Ceramics, Shanghai, China.
Subhasis Rana, Fellow scientist, Central Glass and Ceramic Research Institute, India
Kimiyasu Sato, Scientist, Ceramic Research Institute, AIST, Japan.
Satoshi Tanaka, Associate Professor, Nagaoka University of Technology, Nagaoka, Japan.
Nozomu Uchida, Prof., Nagaoka University of Technology, Japan.
Jens Weber, Group leader, Max Planck Institute for Colloids and Interfaces, Golm, Germany
Joseph Yanez, Global business manager, Akzo Nobel Polymers, USA.
Boris Zhmud, Consultant, SveaCon AB, Sweden.


Latest publications: (Scientific papers)

  • Scientific papers

    Macroscopic Control of Helix Orientation in Films Dried from Cholesteric Liquid-Crystalline Cellulose Nanocrystal Suspensions

    Ji Hyun Park; JungHyun Noh; Christina SchützGerman Salazar-Alvarez; Giusy Scalia; Lennart Bergström; Jan P. F. Lagerwall
    2014 | CHEMPHYSCHEM | DOI: 10.1002/cphc.201400062 (1-8)
  • Scientific papers

    Structuring adsorbents and catalysts by processing of porous powders. Feature Article.

    Akhtar, F; Andersson, L; Ogunwumi, S; Hedin, NBergström, L
    2014 | Journal of the European Ceramic Society | 34 (1643-1666)
  • Scientific papers

    Spin excitations in cubic maghemite nanoparticles studied by time-of-flight neutron spectroscopy

    S. Disch; R. P. Hermann; E. Wetterskog; A. A. Podlesnyak; K. An; T. Hyeon; G. Salazar-AlvarezL. Bergström; and Th. Brückel
    2014 | PHYSICAL REVIEW B | 89 (064402-1-064402-8)
  • Scientific papers

    Cellulose nanocrystal-based materials: from liquid crystal self-assembly and glass formation to multifunctional thin films

    J. Lagerwall; C. Schütz; M. Salajkova; J. Noh; J. Park; G. Scalia; L. Bergström
    2014 | NPG Asia Materials | 6
  • Scientific papers

    Deposition of silica nanoparticles onto alumina measured by optical reflectometry and quartz crystal microbalance with dissipation techniques

    Guleryuz,H; Kaus, I; Buron, CC; Filiâtre, C; Hedin, NBergström, L; Einarsrud, M-A
    2014 | Colloids and Surfaces A: Physicochemical and Engineering Aspects | 443 (384-390)